Fractional dimensions

2D CAD software for iPhone and iPad
Post Reply
Curt
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:31 am

Fractional dimensions

Post by Curt »

When I switched to fractional from metric I get a 0 in front of the fraction. In metric it is 0.50, in inch it is 0 1/2. There is no need for the 0. Are there any settings that can change it or is it a program error?
Curt
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:31 am

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Curt »

Forgot to add, I use an iPhone 4GS. Anyone else notice that 0, zero?
Eric Pousse
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Eric Pousse »

Bonjour Curt,

No one says that to me before.
If it is not the right way, I will modify that.
But if you choose fractional inches, you don't have the 0 before.

Thanks.
Eric Pousse
Curt
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:31 am

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Curt »

Bonjour Eric,

These are two pictures of just lines that are dimensioned to show the zero in front of a fraction. At an inch or greater the zero place is taken by 1,2,3 etc.. A fraction less than a an inch the zero is in that place.

Curt
Attachments
image.jpg
image.jpg (79.22 KiB) Viewed 13746 times
image.jpg
image.jpg (64.85 KiB) Viewed 13746 times
Eric Pousse
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Eric Pousse »

OK Curt it is a bug, thank you.
I will fix it.
Eric Pousse
Eric Pousse
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Eric Pousse »

And with fractional feet and inches, is 0' 5/16" correct?
Or is only 5/16" better?
Eric Pousse
Curt
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:31 am

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Curt »

Eric, thank you, merci,

Just 5/16". If a line or dimension is longer than an inch then it would be 1' 0" or 1'1" for example.
If you want to express feet and inches, such as five feet, seven and one quarter inch, type on keyboard: 5'7.25 or, alternatively, 5'7-1/4" in fractional form. 5' 7-1/4" is clearer with a space between the feet and inches.

If the world was all metric it would be much better!

Curt
Eric Pousse
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Eric Pousse »

Curt wrote:Just 5/16".
OK Curt, I will fix that.
Curt wrote:If the world was all metric it would be much better!
Oh yes ! Feet and inches are very exotic for me, and fractional feet and inches much more ;)
At the time of computers, use of this kind of unit is very strange.

Thank you.
Eric Pousse
Curt
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 7:31 am

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Curt »

Bonjour Eric,

The change is perfect!

Merci,
Curt
Eric Pousse
Posts: 812
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Fractional dimensions

Post by Eric Pousse »

Thank you Curt to have found this bug and to have help to fix it.
Eric Pousse
Post Reply