Can you create a shape by dimensions?

2D CAD software for iPhone and iPad
Dasteinhauser
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:58 pm

Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Dasteinhauser »

Does IPocket Draw have the capability to create a shape from dimensions? I often need to sketch a house by measurements. I start at one corner of the house and know the first line is Δx by 20'. Next line is Δy by 10', next line is Δx by 2', and Δy by 2' (45 deg angle).... Can this be done?

Second question. On drawings that I do, the textures are all really small, which makes them unusable. Can textures be scaled for the drawing?

Thanks for any help. The export is working great now. Thanks for fixing it!
Eric Pousse
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Eric Pousse »

Bonjour,
Dasteinhauser wrote:Does IPocket Draw have the capability to create a shape from dimensions? I often need to sketch a house by measurements. I start at one corner of the house and know the first line is Δx by 20'. Next line is Δy by 10', next line is Δx by 2', and Δy by 2' (45 deg angle).... Can this be done?
I think that you want something like the command line in RealCADD but this doesn't exist (yet) in iPocket Draw, sorry.
Dasteinhauser wrote:Second question. On drawings that I do, the textures are all really small, which makes them unusable. Can textures be scaled for the drawing?
Can you send me an example of a drawing like this?
At which scale are you doing your drawings?
Dasteinhauser wrote:The export is working great now. Thanks for fixing it!
You are welcome.

Thanks.
Eric Pousse
Dasteinhauser
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Dasteinhauser »

I can send you a file and a screenshot. Don't know how to send b don't know how to say this word board. Scale is 1/12
Dasteinhauser
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Dasteinhauser »

I don't know how to send you a file or a screen capture using this board. Scale is 1/12.
Eric Pousse
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Eric Pousse »

You can send me a file by mail.
Eric Pousse
Eric Pousse
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Eric Pousse »

Bonjour David,

I have received your file and I see what you say.
Perhaps your pieces that you drawn are too big according with the scale you choose.
But it will be better if the user can choose a scale to be applied to them.
I will work on this.
As a workaround, you can do this manually :
- select a shape,
- duplicate it,
- scale it at 0.5 0.5 for example,
- do a texture on it,
- select the texture,
- scale it at 2 2,
- erase the duplicated shape.

Thanks.
Eric Pousse
Eric Pousse
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Eric Pousse »

David,

In RealCADD 4.51b2 I have added this feature.
Therefore you can see it before I add it in iPocket Draw.

Cordialement.
Eric Pousse
Dasteinhauser
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Dasteinhauser »

Thanks. I tried to downoload RealCADD, but I use a PC, not a Mac these days for a my work computer. Tried the scale and it works. The reason I use the scale and sizes of the objects is that I can put in the actual dimensions of the object. That way a 4' section is 4'x4' and I don't have to scale. Many times I have to put in custom dimensions and I can enter the dimensions directly like 38"x6'4".

Also saw one more anomoly. If you select a shape, enter the "X" dimension, and then click ok, the object becomes a square with the "X" dimension. In my case, if I have an rectangle that is 4'x6', and then change the "X" dimension to 8', then the object becomes 8'x8'. If I change the "Y" dimension and then click ok, this does not happen.
Eric Pousse
Posts: 799
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Eric Pousse »

David,

Where, exactly, do you see that?

Thanks.
Eric Pousse
Dasteinhauser
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2013 12:58 pm

Re: Can you create a shape by dimensions?

Post by Dasteinhauser »

I draw a rectangle, then select it. I choose "object attributes ". Type in a number for the "dx" distance, then select anywhere in the drawing. The "dy" number is changed to the "dx" number. If you do this for the "dy" attribute, the "dx" number does not change when you click in the drawing.
Post Reply