Big Sur?

2D CAD software for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux
Post Reply
Mikerosen
Posts: 293
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Contact:

Big Sur?

Post by Mikerosen » Sun Nov 15, 2020 2:02 am

Eric,

Has RealCADD been tested on Big Sur?
Mike Rosen
Seattle, WA, USA

Mac OS 10.14, iOS 11.4.1 on iPad Pro

Eric Pousse
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Big Sur?

Post by Eric Pousse » Sun Nov 15, 2020 6:42 pm

Bonjour Mike,

Yes, RealCADD works on Big Sur but there is a bug with the scripts.

I will fix it.

Thanks.
Eric Pousse

debenriver
Posts: 523
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: Big Sur?

Post by debenriver » Sun Nov 15, 2020 9:38 pm

So I discovered – my Beamcamber scripts don't work :( :(

Eric – will they work do you think when you fix it?

I can send you a copy of the scripts if necessary??

Otherwise no problems so far

Cheers -- George

Eric Pousse
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Big Sur?

Post by Eric Pousse » Mon Nov 16, 2020 5:53 pm

Theoretically RealCADD 5.02b3 is OK on Big Sur.
Eric Pousse

debenriver
Posts: 523
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: Big Sur?

Post by debenriver » Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:14 pm

I still have a problem with my Beamcamber script.

It produces a text file which I open in Prefit to create a 3_D surface that I can open in MacSurf.

The text file should look like this:
test.jpg
test.jpg (121.69 KiB) Viewed 91 times
But it's gone into engineering mode like this:
test2.jpg
test2.jpg (192.54 KiB) Viewed 91 times
Which Prefit can't read

I can send you the whole sript (there are two of them Beamcamber and Sidedeck)

Cheers -- George

Eric Pousse
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Big Sur?

Post by Eric Pousse » Tue Nov 17, 2020 7:42 am

Yes George, send me your script.

Cordialement.
Eric Pousse

Eric Pousse
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Big Sur?

Post by Eric Pousse » Wed Nov 18, 2020 2:28 pm

Bonjour George,

Can you try RealCADD 5.02b4?

I think that the problem with some scripts is resolved.
With v5.00, I introduced a bug in Global_x and Global_y...

In 5.02b4, there is a new option in Preferences -> Display to allow drawings without anti-aliasing.
In this case, the speed can be increased for drawings with many objects.

Thanks.
Eric Pousse

debenriver
Posts: 523
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: Big Sur?

Post by debenriver » Wed Nov 18, 2020 6:57 pm

Hi Eric

Problem solved!! All good again. Thanks very much. I guess I hadn't used Beamcamber for a while ...

Does the anti-aliasing option affect the quality of a PDF, or a JPEG from a RealCADD drawing?? Is it better to have anti-aliasing checked for printing to PDF or saving to JPEG?

I have to say I don't have any speed problem, even on large complex drawings – but I do break them down by layers and use Layer layouts & Views to move around in a big drawing.

Cheers -- George

Eric Pousse
Posts: 742
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Big Sur?

Post by Eric Pousse » Wed Nov 18, 2020 7:14 pm

debenriver wrote:
Wed Nov 18, 2020 6:57 pm
Does the anti-aliasing option affect the quality of a PDF, or a JPEG from a RealCADD drawing?? Is it better to have anti-aliasing checked for printing to PDF or saving to JPEG?
Theoretically anti-aliasing have no effect on printing or saving to JPEG.
Eric Pousse

Post Reply