Moving objects between Layers

2D CAD software for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux
Post Reply
Chipharley
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Mar 29, 2020 7:52 pm

Moving objects between Layers

Post by Chipharley »

Is it possible to move an object from the layer it was created on to a new or different layer?
debenriver
Posts: 656
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: Moving objects between Layers

Post by debenriver »

Yes it's very easy.

Just copy the object, swap layers (either in Window >> Layers/Pages, or Layer layouts) and paste it into the new layer. Delete it from the original layer if wished.

If you want to send it to a completely new layer, then make that first and then copy and paste.

If you know you want to delete it from the original layer, you can do ⌘X to delete it (it will be on the clipboard) and then paste it on the new layer.

Cheers -- George
Eric Pousse
Posts: 984
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Moving objects between Layers

Post by Eric Pousse »

Bonjour Chipharley,

By principe, new objects are drawn on active layer.
As George explained, you can move objects from one layer to another, simply by cut them from the original layer and paste them on the active layer.
But there is some exceptions :
- Command "Paste special..." can paste through layers and create them,
- Duplicated objects are on the same layer than original objects,
- Parallels tool has an option to create new objects on active layer or on same layer than original objects,
...

Cordialement.
Eric Pousse
Post Reply