Inserted characters

2D CAD software for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux
Post Reply
debenriver
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Inserted characters

Post by debenriver » Fri Aug 03, 2012 9:49 pm

Hi Eric

This is very minor – but on earlier versions I could insert characters from the character viewer (like an inverted Delta = ∇ = volume of displacement) into text and they were fine. On 4.21b2 inserted characters (both in an older drawing or a new drawing) show up as question mark. When you are actually in the text mode they show correctly, but the moment you come out of text mode they revert to ?

As I said - a very minor thing and I can work around it OK. If you can fix it easily that would be great :D

Sometime when you are looking at text generally it would also be great if a block of text could have a width, so one could type and the text would automatically return to a new line when it got to the fixed width. Makes notes and instructions on drawings much easier to do. Again not a big problem - just on the wish list!

Looks like I may have a 25m sailboat design to do in the autumn – that will be the biggest yet on RealCADD. Current largest is a 20.75m in wood epoxy. All parts (thousands of them!) saved as DXF files to be CNC laser cut.

George

Eric Pousse
Posts: 730
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Inserted characters

Post by Eric Pousse » Sun Aug 05, 2012 7:50 am

OK George, I confirm the bug.

It is probably a problem with the encoding.
I will search to fix it.

Thanks
Eric Pousse

Eric Pousse
Posts: 730
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: Inserted characters

Post by Eric Pousse » Mon Aug 06, 2012 3:27 pm

George,

For me the problem appears only if I choose to not use Quartz in RealCADD prefs -> Display.
Can you confirm?
In both case, generating a pdf via printing is good.
Eric Pousse

debenriver
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: Inserted characters

Post by debenriver » Mon Aug 06, 2012 11:13 pm

You are absolutely right! I didn't realize that I had "Use Quartz" de-selected. It wasn't intentional. With Quartz selected it is all fine. Many thanks. :D George

Post Reply