A few problems

2D CAD software for Windows, Mac OS X and Linux
Post Reply
Mikerosen
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Contact:

A few problems

Post by Mikerosen »

Eric,

I have a few issues that have been bothering me for a while. I've just updated to v. 5.02, still on Catalina 10.15.7.

1. When I try to draw a perpendicular line off of a line, it's not showing me the midpoint, unless I have the circle center icon clicked. It's kind of misleading, because the implication of the icon is that it works to find the center of a circle, but not a line. Maybe the icon could be changed, or another one added to show a line midpoint, even though it would do exactly the same thing!

2. Even though I have Architect font and size 14 selected in preferences, text enters in Helvetica 12, and I have to change it. Can this be fixed, or am I doing something wrong?

3. I want to change my default print area from 10.2 to 10. How do I do that?

4. A while back, we discussed automatically flipping the print area numbers when going from portrait to landscape. (For example, 8 x 10 to 10 x 8.) Is that still a possibility?

5. We also spoke of linking the X and Y entries in the resize dialogue box to just require a single number, or at least, adding that as an option, since I would never resize to different percentages.

And again, thanks for such a great program! I've semi-retired from cabinetwork, but I still use it, just not as often.

Merci,
Mike
Mike Rosen
Seattle, WA, USA

Mac OS 10.14, iOS 11.4.1 on iPad Pro
debenriver
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: A few problems

Post by debenriver »

Hi Mike

Hope you are staying safe and well.

1. The center snap has always had that icon and I have to say I've never found it misleading – I guess because my previous CAD program ClarisCad had exactly the same icon .... If you turn "Display attraction name" on it will say "Middle" when it finds a centre, though it will show the same center icon

2. Same here – I've never been able to get it to save a font as a default. You can do it for Dimensions (in Preferences >> Dimensions – check the "Save as default box") but not for text generally. Even when you save a a model (template) it won't save the general font – always defaults to Helvetica. A default font in the Preferences >> General dialogue would be good – or at least being able to save a default font with the "model" extension.

You can save the Font size as a default and that works pretty well (under the Edit menu). So I always get Helvetica 9 point at least.

3. You can do that! In the Page setup >> Paper size >> Manage Custom Sizes. Make yourself a custom paper size, with custom margins etc.

4. You can do that too. After Page setup >> OK >> Drawing size, set the width and height to *1 (or any other multiplier). Then whatever you change the Page setup to, or change the orientation, the drawing size will change automatically.

5. That would be nice!! Lots of programs do have that option. I do occasionally resize to different amounts when I want to change the nature of a long curved line – but that is quite rare, so a default of the two being the same would be great.

Cheers -- George
Eric Pousse
Posts: 823
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: A few problems

Post by Eric Pousse »

Bonjour Mike,

Thank you George for your response.

Yes for text objects, the default font can't be modified
I can store the last font used and restore it when RealCADD is launch again.

I will add the link between the X and the Y in the resize dialogue. Sorry I don't remember that we spoke about it. Perhaps I am to old...

But Mike, if you can't use the last version of RealCADD, you will not have this new features.
More informations about this problem will help me.

Thanks.
Eric Pousse
debenriver
Posts: 589
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 9:19 pm
Location: Maine USA and Suffolk England
Contact:

Re: A few problems

Post by debenriver »

Yes for text objects, the default font can't be modified
I can store the last font used and restore it when RealCADD is launch again.
Could the font be stored with a model.mrcad? Then the preferred font would be stored along with the other settings.

Cheers -- George
Eric Pousse
Posts: 823
Joined: Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:31 pm
Location: Tours - France

Re: A few problems

Post by Eric Pousse »

debenriver wrote: Tue Feb 23, 2021 2:21 pm Could the font be stored with a model.mrcad? Then the preferred font would be stored along with the other settings.
Why not?
I will try.

Thank you George.
Eric Pousse
Mikerosen
Posts: 313
Joined: Sun Dec 11, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Contact:

Re: A few problems

Post by Mikerosen »

Thanks for the tips, George. I'll give 'em a whirl!

Eric,
I'll try 5.02 tomorrow, and see if I get the same problems. Merci!

Stay well, both of you.
Mike Rosen
Seattle, WA, USA

Mac OS 10.14, iOS 11.4.1 on iPad Pro
Post Reply